Comparison · Language learning apps
Busuu vs Speak: which is better in 2026?
Busuu ranks higher in our list of language learning apps (#2 against #4, score 88.5 against 83.0).
- 88.5Editorial score83.0
- 3Platforms2
- YesFree to useNo
- NoOpen sourceNo
Which should you choose?
Choose Busuu if you want
Guided courses with speaking practice and a community.
Expert-written courses with speaking practice and a community of native speakers. Premium plans are a separate paid tier, and it feels more like a course than a game compared with Duolingo.
Choose Speak if you want
Speaking practice with an AI conversation tutor.
AI tutor conversations and speaking-focused lessons with feedback, in seven languages. It has a 7-day trial and then needs a paid plan, so it ranks below Duolingo and Busuu.
The main differences
- Only Busuu runs on Web.
- Busuu can be used for free; Speak requires payment.
Side by side
| Score | 88.5 | 83.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Rank in list | #2 of 10 | #4 of 10 |
| Price | Free plan, paid upgradesLearn for free; Busuu Premium plans are paid | Subscription7-day free trial, then paid Premium or Premium Plus plans |
| Free to use | Yes | No |
| Open source | No | No |
| Platforms | WebiOSAndroidWeb, iOS, Android | iOSAndroidiOS, Android |
| Made by | Not stated | Not stated |
| Main skill practised | Speaking and pronunciation | Speaking and conversation |
| Lesson format | Expert-written courses | AI tutor conversations |
| Speaking practice | Yes | Yes |
| Best for | Guided courses with speaking practice and a community | Speaking practice with an AI conversation tutor |
| Strengths |
|
|
| Limits |
|
|
| Links | Visit site | Visit site |
Questions about Busuu vs Speak
- Is Busuu better than Speak?
- Busuu ranks higher in our list of language learning apps (#2 against #4, score 88.5 against 83.0). Busuu is best for: guided courses with speaking practice and a community. Speak is best for: speaking practice with an AI conversation tutor.
- Which is cheaper, Busuu or Speak?
- Busuu: Learn for free; Busuu Premium plans are paid. Speak: 7-day free trial, then paid Premium or Premium Plus plans.
- Do Busuu and Speak run on the same platforms?
- Busuu supports Web, iOS, Android. Speak supports iOS, Android.



