Comparison · AI writing assistants
ProWritingAid vs Sudowrite: which is better in 2026?
ProWritingAid ranks higher in our list of AI writing assistants (#5 against #6, score 82.0 against 79.0).
- 82.0Editorial score79.0
- 1Platforms1
- YesFree to useNo
- NoOpen sourceNo
Which should you choose?
Choose ProWritingAid if you want
Book-length editing with story planning.
A story canvas, plot analysis and detailed style reports, with a free plan. Premium at $30 a month is aimed at committed book writers, and the tool is less suited to short copy.
Choose Sudowrite if you want
Fiction drafting and manuscript feedback.
Built for novels and screenplays, with chat, scene tools and a planning canvas. It has no free plan, and its fiction focus limits use for business or academic writing.
The main differences
- ProWritingAid can be used for free; Sudowrite requires payment.
Side by side
| Score | 82.0 | 79.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Rank in list | #5 of 10 | #6 of 10 |
| Price | Free plan, paid upgradesFree plan; Premium $30 a month billed monthly; Premium Pro $36 a month billed monthly | SubscriptionHobby $10, Professional $22 and Max $44 a month, billed monthly or yearly |
| Free to use | Yes | No |
| Open source | No | No |
| Platforms | WebWeb | WebWeb |
| Made by | Not stated | Not stated |
| Main focus | Long-form editing | Fiction drafting |
| AI writing features | Not listed | Yes, chat and drafting |
| Story and plot tools | Story canvas and plot analysis | Planning canvas |
| Team plans | Not listed | Not listed |
| Best for | Book-length editing with story planning | Fiction drafting and manuscript feedback |
| Strengths |
|
|
| Limits |
|
|
| Links | Visit site | Visit site |
Questions about ProWritingAid vs Sudowrite
- Is ProWritingAid better than Sudowrite?
- ProWritingAid ranks higher in our list of AI writing assistants (#5 against #6, score 82.0 against 79.0). ProWritingAid is best for: book-length editing with story planning. Sudowrite is best for: fiction drafting and manuscript feedback.
- Which is cheaper, ProWritingAid or Sudowrite?
- ProWritingAid: Free plan; Premium $30 a month billed monthly; Premium Pro $36 a month billed monthly. Sudowrite: Hobby $10, Professional $22 and Max $44 a month, billed monthly or yearly.
- Do ProWritingAid and Sudowrite run on the same platforms?
- ProWritingAid supports Web. Sudowrite supports Web.





